Children using GeoKone and Transparent Film Paper to create Beautiful Art

Was so happy to see this that I had to share this link here also. Amy Zschaber from http://www.artfulartsyamy.com/, an art teacher teaching in Georgia, shared one of her classes she had taught on the subject of Islamic Art & Architecture (which is heavily based on natural, sacred geometries).

Specifically, she introduced the children to GeoKone, and each student made some designs they liked, then they printed it out and colored by hand on transparent film paper used in old projectors.

The results are beautiful! Sharing couple of images here that the children made:

photo 4 (2)

photo 4 (1)

photo 3

photo 2 (3)

photo 2 (4)

This saved my day (or night to be exact). One of my goals in life is to share this knowledge with children, and to open up the creativity in kids, so this really warms up my heart and motivates me to continue working on this subject.

Check out her post here for more images and the way she taught this to her students:

http://www.artfulartsyamy.com/2014/11/lesson-plan-islamic-stained-glass.html
Big thanks for Amy for posting this online!

2 thoughts on “Children using GeoKone and Transparent Film Paper to create Beautiful Art

  1. Wow! I just saw this!! Thank you so much for making GeoKone! I have been searching for YEARS for a good, online, geometry-based program for my students. This was truly needed. Thank you SOOOO much for making it free, too! My students love using it!!!

    • Thank you for the comment Amy. And believe me, I am very happy to hear children are using it :) My goal is to help people find more creative ways to express themselves, especially children. Tried to leave a comment on your site earlier, but not sure if it went through or not. Keep on inspiring children!

Leave a Reply

